How to filter Private Messages

Message Filter

No one likes opening up their inbox to be drowned by unwanted messages. It’s frustrating and can really bring down your chat experience, wherever you are. It’s something we’re dedicated to helping resolve, and the Message Filter is a positive step toward solving this issue.

In its simplest form, it’s the job of the Message Filter to stop unwanted incoming messages. It contains several options that you can tweak to customise what kind of messages are filtered, but we’ll get onto that soon.

If the person you are trying to contact does not have you as a Contact/friend and their Message Filter is set to Strict, you will see Message Failed in the Chat when you attempt to message them. Their message will also not go to the Filtered Messages inbox.

Table of Contents

Where can I find the Message Filter?

iOS

Palringo-8.5-Message-Filter-1.jpegPalringo-8.5-Message-Filter-2.jpeg

 

Palringo-8.5-Message-Filter-3.jpeg

Android

Android_8.jpg

Filter settings

The filter options restrict the types of messages you can receive. Depending on the filter setting you choose, fewer or more users will be able to contact you.

Strict

Only your existing Contacts, Staff, Volunteers and Bots can contact you–the bare essentials for your experience.

Recommended (default setting)

Mostly the same as Strict, but Group Owners and Admins can now contact you.

Relaxed

Based on Recommended. Relaxed also permits messages from users that are of a certain level and have been in the app for a reasonable amount of time.

Disabled

This option disables the message filter so that messages from all users are permitted.

Filtered messages location

There is a dedicated inbox for filtered messages. If you wish to see them, the filtered messages list can be found in the Message Filter section of the Settings, in a sub-page found directly underneath the filter settings.

iOS

Palringo-8.5-Message-Filter-4.jpegPalringo-8.5-Message-Filter-5.jpeg

Android

Android_8.5_Message-Filter-Location.png

Filtered message options

Clear All: This option is available with the sweeping brush icon at the top of the list. This only empties the list of all messages.

Individual Message Options: These are available via a long press on a message.

Clear: Clears the selected message from the list
Block: Prevents any further messages from this user from being received.
Add: Adds the user to your contacts list (on the Contacts Tab) and moves the message to the Chats List. This effectively marks these users as ‘safe’, so all future messages are received irrespective of the message filter settings.

When you first install the app, what Message Filter is set to may change.

  • New user: RECOMMENDED.
  • Existing user on 8.4 (or lower) with Spam Filter set to OFFRECOMMENDED
  • Existing user on 8.4 (or lower) with Spam Filter ONRECOMMENDED
Have more questions? Submit a request